Deja Vu

This may be a bit out of context, but I want to share this with you all.

Today, in the afternoon I went to meet my new neighbors, who have just shifted in the house next to my house. Its is quite strange because I felt as if I already know them and I have already met them at the same place. It was some sort of uncanny recognition and familiarity.

This was not the first time this happened to me. I have experienced that same of recognition feeling many times before and have always wondered as to Why this happens?????

I have tried to look for a possible explanation for the long time but in vain. But today, I was lucky enough to quench my thirst about this strange feeling.

And here is what I found out

When I do a definite action and I have the feeling that I have done it before. This is called Deja vu.

Deja vu is a French phrase meaning “already seen”, and it refers to the experience of feeling sure that one has witnessed or experienced a new situation previously (an individual feels as though an event has already happened or has happened in the recent past), although the exact circumstances of the previous encounter are uncertain. The experience of déjà vu is usually accompanied by a compelling sense of familiarity, and also a sense of “eeriness”, “strangeness”, or “weirdness”. The “previous” experience is most frequently attributed to a dream, although in some cases there is a firm sense that the experience has genuinely happened in the past.

Deja vu has often been described as “remembering the future” and is a very common phenomenon experienced by 70% or more of the population at least once.

It has been extremely difficult to create the déjà vu experience in laboratory settings, so few studies have been done on the phenomenon ant no concrete results have been found.

Scientists at the Massachusetts Institute in Cambridge, now say they have discovered the part of the brain that is responsible for Deja vu; they say neurons in the memory centre of the brain called the hippo campus make a mental map of new places and experiences, then store them away for later use.

They believe that Deja vu occurs when two events or places are very similar to each other, overlap and thus the feeling of déjà vu takes place.

To find more about it, check out the following links :

http://psychology.wikia.com/wiki/Deja_vu
http://science.howstuffworks.com/science-vs-myth/extrasensory-perceptions/deja-vu2.htm

Express your views

