Tech Task # 6 Storytelling/Storymaking Part 1

The ECMP355 Session with Alan Levine on Digital Storytelling was awesome! I had never imagined telling a story could be so enjoyable. He discussed about the different tools that can be used to create stories in so many different ways. I am looking forward to use the resources he shared in my classroom, in the future.

Storytelling is a very powerful tool that can be use to help students to –

  • Explore their unique ability to express their thoughts and emotions in words.
  • Work on their communication and critical thinking skills.
  • Develop a sense of understanding of others culture.

I used Five Card Flickr for the part 1 of my Tech Task # 6 and I was amazed by the concept of this unique storytelling site where you have to deal with 5 random pictures to create a story. The best part is that its is really easy to use and it does not involve use of any high tech skills which makes it pretty easy for even a kindergarten student to use it.

Students can also read stories created by others which can help them to guide them in the  journey of creating a story themselves. The tool can be use by teachers to help students to express themselves, their thoughts in the form of stories, especially for introvert students. It can also be used to enhance students creative as well as critical thinking skills. The teacher can also ask students to share their creation with others in the classroom which can motivate others students, who may seem uninterested, to get engaged too.

Altogether, I would say Five Card Flickr is a great tool that can be used to engage students and enhance learning in the classroom.


Five Card Story: That one day

a Five Card Flickr story created by swati2326


flickr photo by cogdogblog


flickr photo by bgblogging


flickr photo by Serenae


flickr photo by Serenae


flickr photo by bionicteaching

That one day when I was sitting alone enjoying the sun I receive a text message from God. The message was an order from him directing me to do rescue an old woman who lived in a mud house. She was in great danger as the house was old and could collapse any moment. I followed his command and rescued the woman. On the way back home I saw a flower and wanted to pluck it but got stung by a bee. Few kids saw this and came running to help me. I was in pain but the pain faded away on realization that I had accomplished something important in my life today.



Five Card Story: The couple

a Five Card Flickr story created by swati2326


flickr photo by Choconancy1


flickr photo by keepps


flickr photo by bionicteaching


flickr photo by cogdogblog


flickr photo by Intrepidteacher

They were the best couple in the world. I first met them in the park where I use to take my son to play, and after that day I saw them everyday in the park sitting on the swing holding hands. They had been married for 40 years but still their eyes were filled with love and affection for each other.

We use to meet daily and talk for hours.Once they told me about their country side house which had been forcefully taken away by their sons. They had always wanted to live there for rest of their lives as they had so many memories attached to it.

It was one day that I didn’t see them in the park. The swing was empty. I was really worried and so I went to their house to find they had passed away the other night in each others arms.


Express your views

