Tech Task # 5 Are you well Googled?

Part 2 – Google yourself

When I Google myself using my First and Last name this is what shows up

FireShot Screen Capture #006 - 'Google' - www_google_ca_#gs_rn=15&gs_ri=psy-ab&suggest=p&cp=9&gs_id=1v&xhr=t&q=Swati+Dixit&es_nrs=true&pf=p&output=search&sclient=psy-ab&oq=Swati+Dix&gs_l=&pbx=1&bav=on_2,or_r_qf_&bvm=bThere is no sign of me anywhere except for one link that connects me to my twitter account. Apart from that none of the links are connected to me in anyways. They are all related to a Telagu (Indian) actress of inappropriate movie. I am really upset with the results but cannot blame anyone as it is all because of my narrow perspective about internet and my privacy setting on my social networking site.  This is a reason that I don’t have any online identity so far.

Next I try to Google myself using “Swati Dixit, Regina”  to see if the results differ this time and this is what shows up

FireShot Screen Capture #002 - 'Google' - www_google_ca_#sclient=psy-ab&q=Swati+Dixit%2C+Regina&oq=Swati+Dixit%2C+Regina&gs_l=hp_3___1737_11490_0_14503_23_19_2_2_3_0_202_3160_0j18j1_19_0___0_0___1c_1_15_psy-ab_A9fjN1dThe results were totally different this time. My twitter account comes to be on the top and I am happy with this because this is sort of my professional account and reflect me in every way. The next link is my “Bloggy Mom” account which is a Social networking site for mothers. I am pretty surprised to see this because I had closed this account long back.

There is no sign of my Blog, Pinterest or Google+ which I am frequently using these days. I want these sites to show up in future as they define the real me.

I am really enjoying Googling myself so I decide to give it one more try, but this time I Googled using “swati2326” (my username for almost all the sites). I am amazed to see the result this time

FireShot Screen Capture #004 - 'Google' - www_google_ca_#gs_rn=15&gs_ri=psy-ab&suggest=p&pq=swati%20dixit%2C%20regina&cp=9&gs_id=5d&xhr=t&q=swati2326&es_nrs=true&pf=p&biw=1366&bih=617&sclient=psy-ab&oq=swati2326&gs_l=There I go!! I can see almost everything there except my facebook and Google+ (which may be because of privacy settings).

My twitter account showed up 🙂

twitterNext is the Pinterest followed by ECMP355 site and my Blog (All 3 of which define me as an Educator)

1913db8ef9c9d3457de7fd11c6352fd2I am pretty happy with the results this time. One can really judge me as a person by looking at the search results.

In future I would like to see me connected to more educational sites that would  define me as an Educator, reflecting my online identity.  I would also like to see the link to my classroom blog which I plan to start when I start teaching and educational articles that I may end up writing (No one knows I may do that!!)

Part 3 – This is me!

I created “About me” page on about.me and Vizify. Make sure to check them out and pour in your suggestions and feedback!

Express your views

