Know My Expectations!!

I came across this Video on Leaving to Learn website and found it to be a great model for teachers to help an understanding of students expectations from teachers.

Students don’t want teachers just to teach but they expect their teachers to make learning fun for them, exploring their creative side and bringing out the best. We as teachers should try to develop a close bond with the students, understanding their strength and weakness in order to get the best out of them. It is our duty focus on every student individually as every student is different and learns differently.

What do you think about this video??

6 thoughts on “Know My Expectations!!

  1. I love this video and I guess I know I am on the right track if I believe in all of them. The proper mindset it is first step. I am a huge advocate for choice, I think it is extremely important to allow students to have choice in how they demonstrate their learning. I am a visual learning so I would much rather show what I know visually instead of writing an essay. I know we can not always give students choice but we have to once in a while in order to keep them engaged. Thanks for sharing the great video! It is inspirational knowing we are on the right track to help our students learn the best way they can.

    • Hey Kayla,
      I really appreciate you for taking out time to comment!! The first thing that came to my mind when I watched this video was looking at each students individually, knowing about their strengths and weakness and figuring out the way that works best for them. Every student learns differently and we should respect that!
      This video has helped me to know about the various aspect of teaching in 21st century that we teachers need to focus on.

  2. Love it! I think that it is totally relevant with everything that we hear about education reform. It shows how we should be student-focused, not teacher-focused (because really, we don’t do what we do for ourselves!). I think that outlining these ten expectations so clearly is important for us to see and be reminded of, because it is how we will engage our students and prove why school is important!
    Thanks for sharing!

    • Hey Adrienne,
      I agree with you completely. Teaching today should be student-focused and as a teacher we need to understand that all students are different. We need to work on each students individually to get the best out of them. We need to teach in a manner that relates everything to their lives so that they can apply knowledge to new situations, analyze information, collaborate, solve problems, and make decisions and for achieving all this technology is the only solution.
      Thanks for taking out time to express your views!! Looking forward to learn more from you!

  3. Awesome video! This is what we should be striving towards in our classrooms. Sometimes we get so caught up in test scores without realizing what’s going on around us. These 10 imperatives are what make classrooms an innovative place to learn. This video definitely goes along with Will’s presentation the other day. If students expectations are met school can become an innovative place!

    • Hey Jenna,
      You are absolutely right! This video does go with the Will Richardson presentation “Why schools?”. We as teachers need to create a learning environment that focus on process, values and collaboration rather than the facts alone. We have the responsibility to inculcate the values in the future generation so that they can monitor their own learning. They don’t need teachers but mentor and guides who can show them the right path to follow.
      Thanks for commenting!

Express your views

